Skip to content
9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 11:57 pm

    This is how you take care of this. You say to her:

    “What money”?

    I’m looking forward to reading more of your rants Kate!

    • Kate Sedgwick permalink*
      September 29, 2009 11:58 pm

      Thanks, Carlo! And thanks for popping the blog’s comment cherry.

  2. September 30, 2009 12:08 am

    hell yes.

  3. papertrail23 permalink
    September 30, 2009 7:53 am

    People and their money issues… I’m always amazed by how bare they lay themselves in front of others.

  4. September 30, 2009 1:03 pm

    Ha man that sounds frustrating. I love the email excerpts. Did we all use to sound like that? Just me? Oh.

    • September 30, 2009 2:33 pm

      I think we all did – at least sort of – and I understand her asking and might even have been inclined to return the money to her if she weren’t so simultaneously insulting and polite.

      Her logic has so many holes and the note is so full of a heavy handed emotional manipulation that I was instantly angry at her presumption and keen to rip it to shreds.

  5. Denice Laws permalink
    October 13, 2009 4:23 pm

    I have a quick question as a renter. I paid for my rent 6 months in advance because I am a student, when I meant to pay for five. I tried to suck it up, but I am a student and single mother with limited income. I could really use that extra month I hadn’t meant to pay for. I’m on a month to month contract with my landlords and have lived here for 5 years. In your opinion, is it ok to ask for one month’s rent back?

    Thanks!

    • October 15, 2009 5:47 pm

      When you need money, ask. It never hurts to ask.

      The only reason I so thoroughly mocked this woman was because she over-justified and condescended. I doubt your landlord will do the same, especially if you act as if you have some sense when you write to inquire. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

