Skip to content

Where Do You Buy a Whole Chicken?

March 23, 2010

Back in college, I went through a meat phase in my photography. It’s fertile ground and something I’ll probably continue to explore if and when I concentrate on photography again.

Jesus Chicken

Jesus Chicken: Photo by author, all rights reserved

The Meaning of Trussed

The Meaning of Trussed: Photo by author, all rights reserved

Before critique, as I was pinning the photos (bondage chicken) to the wall, one of my classmates said to me, “Where to you get a chicken like that?”

“It’s a marionette head. Is that what you’re asking?”

“No. I mean a whole chicken. Not cut up in pieces.”

“Where do you buy one? At the grocery store.”

“Really? You can buy them like that at the store?”

“Yeah. Really.”

This was a college student and a very talented artist and a nice person. Still, I had to ask myself how it’s possible to reach adulthood not knowing that a whole chicken (sans head and feet, of course) can be purchased at the grocery.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 7:07 pm

    A friend of my brother-in-law thought eggs came from cows. No shit. People have a serious disconnect with their food.

    • March 23, 2010 7:08 pm

      Jesus Christ! I need to start getting stupids from other people. That’s incredible.

  2. March 23, 2010 7:58 pm

    “[H]ow it’s possible to reach adulthood not knowing that a whole chicken (sans head and feet, of course) can be purchased at the grocery?”

    Be white.

  3. March 24, 2010 7:58 pm

    Hey Kate

    To be honest with you, as a practicing Christian, I find the first photograph very offensive.

    It’s your blog and the freedom to post whatever you want is yours, but that first just rubs me the wrong way.

    L

    • March 24, 2010 10:05 pm

      I’m sorry about that, Lola, but the photograph isn’t against Jesus who I regard as a hero, but against the commodification of religion and especially with regards to the way that is practiced in the right wing in the US (I know this is probably not the time for a joke, but the pun was unintentional).

      Many people have been offended by my work, but this is the first time I’ve heard it about this one. I hope knowing where the work is coming from can have you look at it in a different way, but I understand how you feel and all I can say is that it is not meant as an affront to people who practice Christianity with a full heart, good will, and love for other people of the world.

      • March 25, 2010 5:55 am

        Thanks for clarifying Kate!

        I certainly understand your feeling towards right-wing conservatives who shamelessly twist religion and faith to suit their agendas.

        Yes, there are tons of democrats (moi!) who are strong Christians and I find it ironic that conservatives attack along religious lines because the principles of the democrat party and social states are more in line with the fundamentals of Christianity:

        I am my brother’s keeper.

        So, yes, I understand where you’re coming from. The issue is just that the symbol of the crucifix is revered by all other Christians besides just the loonies.

        Hence, why I had to say something.

      • March 25, 2010 8:38 am

        Lola – I enjoy all comments on the blog, but especially those that contradict my own. Thanks for taking the time to write in the first place and to write back. The image of Christ is one many of us don’t really see anymore – our eyes barely register it.

        And honestly, knowing you’re a Christian makes me feel a little better about Christianity because the squeaky wheel gets the grease and the squeakiest Christians seem to be the ones hating gays or the President.

        I hope there aren’t any hard feelings.

        K

      • March 25, 2010 9:21 am

        Hard feelings?! Seriously? No way 🙂

        I’ve got friends who I don’t necessarily agree with on every issue, but they’re still my friends.

        I always find it hard to comprehend when someone says they’re a Christian yet “hate.” Those two words should never exist in the same sentence.

        I can disagree. I can dislike certain things or lifestyles. I can be disappointed.

        But hate isn’t a part of my vocabulary.

        No hard feelings.

  4. Ashley permalink
    July 2, 2010 1:41 am

    Our local grocery does not sell whole chickens anymore. We used to have a huge rotisserie sitting in the deli with chickens on it (this is the midwest, after all) but they removed it. Now all my mother can find is the packaged generic and Tyson’s chicken in the meat section (she bitches about it regularly). I’m guessing they didn’t get enough business?

Leave a Reply

