Skip to content

How Do You Speak Bad English?

September 19, 2010

I’m an English teacher and students often ask me to help them with more explicit phrases. I, of course, can’t do that in my classes, so I’ve decided to do it on YouTube.

This is my first stab at it. Do any of your friends who speak English as a second language have questions? Or do you have any? I’d love suggestions for future videos and themes, so if you have any, please let me know by leaving a comment.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 4:46 pm

    Kate, you’re a genius. There’s a huge market for this. Plus, it’s fucking hilarious.

    • September 20, 2010 5:30 pm

      Thanks, Hal. I’m a little worried about being copy-catted. But I think I’ll try to keep at it. It’s pretty fun.

  2. September 20, 2010 10:09 pm

    ok, so i speak terrible Inglish, what are you gonna do, shoot me? I’m not totally sure i like you, you kinda bitch way too much…but i have to agree ur style could eventually reach some potential audience, hehehe. Plus you’ll have all the psychos in your midst, not a bad outcome, really, ;->

    • September 21, 2010 10:09 am

      I have to say that I’m confused by this comment, Rene, since you must have gone very deep into the blog to uncover bitching. In any case, your opinion is now on the “About This Bitch” page and I needed to update that, so thanks!

      My advice? When attacking someone’s behavior or character, don’t modify the negative trait you want to complain about as “kinda”. It weakens your message. Have a good one!

  3. September 21, 2010 7:02 pm

    I want to see the making of or behind the scenes of this video. How long did it take you to put this together?

    Looking forward to the next installment.

    • September 21, 2010 10:09 pm

      Thanks, Carlo! Once I figured out which of the programs to use, it only took a few hours. The next one will be a lot easier. Those are just quick shoops in iMovie from a GarageBand track done on my (obviously) sub-par Skype headset. Shit. This sounds like an ad for apple and skype. Well, so be it. That’s how I did it.

  4. September 22, 2010 7:46 am

    classic Kate. I think your voice works fantastic with the subject matter. Makes it that much more hilarious. I especially appreciate your attention to detail; explaining the speed at which fucked off should be said to gain the most impact.

    I’m particularly inclined to use the idiomatic phrase: ‘Fuck you and the horse you rode in on’. Perhaps a chapter on those?

  5. Sarah Loving permalink
    September 23, 2010 2:30 am

    This is so funny. LOVE IT.

    If you continue with phrasal verbs, I would enjoy an exploration of “fucked up” since it can employ an indirect object as well, as in the oft used phrase “he fucked it up real bad.” Also, the imperative tense is electrifying in urgent matters: “Stop fucking up, or Dr. Karlsson will give you your medicine!”

    (x-posted from youtube)

    • September 23, 2010 8:36 am

      Bwah ha ha ha ha ha! Dr. Karlsson! Great suggestion. Dumb of me not to have included fucked up!

  6. Roberto permalink
    October 20, 2010 10:41 pm

    I loved it!!!
    With this kind of videos, I am finally going to be able to speak bad English properly…

    Keep up the good work!

  7. January 31, 2011 9:53 am

    i teach english on stumbleupon-free.see site ‘graffiti mundo’ in my saved pages there,mostly graffiti from brazil.enjoy.and hugs for ya.

Leave a Reply

