Skip to content

Would You Like to Read a Shocking, Shamelessly Entertaining Descent into the Erotic Underworld of the Third Reich?

June 9, 2011

Neither would I.

But last night at a friend’s see-you-later-Buenos-Aires party, she was giving away books. And I don’t know how she ran across this gem, but she says she never read it. Behold the trashy cover! A shiny silver SS pin, long enough to lobotomize someone with, pierces a black rose with a drop of blood dripping down.

There are sure to be some gems here. Just consider the first line of the novel:

I hate furniture and clowns.

Is it the combination our narrator objects to, or each entity individually? I guess I might have to read on and find out. Or maybe not.

I had never noticed before that the SS logo is the same as the final two letters in the KISS logo. In all the years my brother’s KISS LPs knocked around our house, I just never noticed it. Maybe I just haven’t spent enough time examining Nazi memorabilia.
But when I looked into it, I found that the German ban on Nazi imagery is so strict that KISS altered their logo for the German market. If they hadn’t, their records couldn’t be sold and their posters couldn’t be displayed.

As I held the book in my hands last night, I figured it might be good for a few laughs, that I might even cut out passages of choice text and do something with them. But I didn’t know that it was going to be educational, too.

Turns out that the author, Marc Behm, was an American who expatriated to France after serving in the US Army in WWII. That’s what Wikipedia says, anyway.

German Kiss record

The book jacket promises:

SHE’S THE WOMAN OTHER WOMEN CAN’T FORGET AND SOME MEN DON’T LIVE TO…
She is every inch a woman…and every bit a Nazi. Edmonde, beautiful and depraved, who quotes Shakespeare, then screams “Sieg Heil” and plunges into orgies of impossible savagery.

It also owns its satirical nature. I might have some Edmonde quotes for you in the near future. In the meantime, I will leave you with the novel’s final line:

“Auf Wiedersehen, you pigfuckers!”

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 12:46 am

    Brilliant. Some books are shameless, some are entertaining. Few are shamelessly entertaining. Fewer still are shamelessly entertaining and have Nazis. Behm is onto something. I’m guessing Pynchon stole most of his ideas for Gravity’s Rainbow from here.

    Auf Wiedersehen…

  2. June 10, 2011 10:11 pm

    I always considered the first lines of 100 Years of Solitude to be the most important, enduring opening lines in recentish literature. Finally they have a competitor. That furniture hatred raises more questions than Colonel Aureliano Buendía facing an unknown firing squad.

  3. bigbutchdaddy permalink
    June 11, 2011 12:42 pm

    instead of saying, “Thankyougoodnight!” to my customers as they exit the restaurant, I now have something new to say….thank you Kate, for introducing me to Edmonde!

  4. June 20, 2011 7:09 am

    Weird but isn’t Gene Simmons an Israeli-born guy (now US citizen)? Were they trying to co-opt the Nazi thing like queer people do by embracing the slurs ?

Leave a Reply

