Skip to content

Is This a Poem?

January 8, 2013

What you can see in the clouds...

What you can see in the clouds…

What if I used to be twins with someone? What if we had a relationship of the deepest kind and got divided? And then were reincarnated far away from each other?

Or what if that’s not right at all. What if it’s really that I was a part of a bigger soul, and those other parts are knocking around and I hear their echos? What if I hear them in recordings? What if I hear them in thin air?

What if all that connects us all is our passions? Are parts of people, great people, split and disseminated? And the rest of us are not so great? But then there’s an Einstein or a Bourgeois or a Truth or a Christ or a Curie?

What if there is nothing? What if everything in my head is just moving cogs that keep the animal alive?

What if we are a festering bacteria in the turd of a massive intergalactic space dog and the owner of the dog is going to pick up that turd and send it hurling into a waste receptacle where it will be transported and fester in something analogous to a landfill? What if it’s just that a second there is a million years here?

What if I still believed in love? What if I still do?

What if I just felt a breath in my ear and that wasn’t the fan?

What if all we can do is teach and show and build fellowship?

What if the world really does matter?

What if we keep destroying the land? The oceans?

No, now there there’s no what if. This is what we do.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. forestboone permalink
    January 8, 2013 1:52 am

    That’s one kick-ass poem, Kate! You inspire me to become a better writer. Keep doing what you’re doing and don’t forget that I knew you back in art school before your were famous:)

Leave a Reply

